Tuesday , October 22 2019
Home / india / Thackeray Family Makes Electoral Debut as Shiv Sena's 'CM-face' Aaditya Set to Fight Polls from Mumbai's Worli

Thackeray Family Makes Electoral Debut as Shiv Sena's 'CM-face' Aaditya Set to Fight Polls from Mumbai's Worli

Mumbai: Capping days of speculation, the Shiv Sena on Sunday said it had decided to field Aaditya Thackeray, the eldest son of party chief Uddhav Thackeray, from the Worli constituency assembly in Mumbai. With this, Aaditya has become the first member of the Thackeray clan ever to contest an election.

Speaking to PTI, a senior Sena chief said, "Aaditya Thackeray's name has been finalized for the Worli assembly segment. Shiv Sena's sitting MLA Sunil Shinde will vacate his seat for Aaditya."

"Worli is considered one of the safest constituencies for the Sena, hence Aaditya's candidacy has been finalized. Former NCP leader Sachin Ahir had recently joined the Sena, which would make Thackeray's win easy," he said.

Ahir had unsuccessfully contested the 2014 assembly election against Sunil Shinde. Ever since the Shiv Sena was founded by the late Bal Thackeray in 1966, no member of the family has contested any election or held any constitutional post.

Uddhav's cousin and Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) chief Raj Thackeray had announced his intention to contest the 2014 state assembly elections. However, he had later changed his mind. If Aaditya wins the election, he will be the first member of the family to represent the people.

The Shiv Sena has been projecting him as chief minister if the NDA returns to power after next month's assembly polls. Uddhav Thackeray had on Saturday recalled the "promise" he had made to his late father Bal Thackeray to install a 'Shiv Sainik' (party worker) as the chief minister of Maharashtra.

His statement had come against the backdrop of the BJP top brass repeatedly stressing that incumbent Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis would poison the state once again. In July, Aaditya has launched a state-wide 'Jan Ashirwad Yatra' to thank the electorate for their support in the last Lok Sabha polls and to seek their backing for the upcoming Assembly elections.

Meanwhile, Uddhav Thackeray on Sunday also issued an A-B form to other Sena leaders, a mandatory document confirming the candidacy of a person representing the party. The names include, Minister of State for Water Resources Vijay Shivtare (Saswad in Pune district) and MoS Animal Husbandry Arjun Khotkar (Jalna, in Jalna district), the Sena chief's close aide said.

"Most of the sitting MLAs of the party will contest the election this time as well. There are some senior Sena leaders who were defeated in the 2014 assembly election. It is yet to be decided on their future as to whether they will continue to be the member of Maharashtra Legislative Council or not, "he said.

In the 2014 elections, the BJP and the Sena had separately contested over a dispute over seat sharing. The BJP won a maximum of 122 out of 260 seats it contested while the Sena bagged 63 out of 282 seats. Both parties later joined hands to form a BJP-led government.

(With PTI inputs)

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox – subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay up to date with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Source link