Instagram is one of those platforms, such as Twitter, that I have always considered the content I'm publishing to be visible to the masses. Yes, I know that both have a "private" account option, but I always thought the value in both was interacting with people outside of your circle.
And then I began to use Instagram Stories. While I have no problem with foreigners who comment and look at my carefully selected Instagram pics, my stories tend to be a bit more personal. This week, Instagram has released a new feature so that you can keep those personal while still keeping your account (and the stories you choose) publicly.
How to use Instagram's "Your Activity" feature to prevent the use of applications
Earlier this year I finally fell behind the rabbit hole that is Instagram stories, and now I pass …
read more Read
Called close friends, this option allows you to choose whether the picture is shared with the masses or just the people in your list of close friends when you add it to a story. No one will know if they have cut your list of "close friends" or not, so you can choose who you want to be involved with.
To use it, first (obviously) you need to create a list of close friends.
Do it by touching your profile icon in the Instagram application, then tap the hamburger icon in the upper right corner of the page. From there, select "Friends List" from the pull-down menu. You can manually add people by clicking on the "Add" button beside their name, you can also touch "Suggestions" to make things a bit easier (Instagram will connect people with whom you often communicate on the platform).
After you make a list, you will start seeing the "Close Friends" icon when you create an Instagram display. Touch it, and the story will be sent only to close friends.
That is it.
It's worth noting: "Close Friends" stories are marked with a green circle around them, rather than red. So, while you do not know that you are specifically on the list of friends "close friends", you will know that the story you are seeing was sent only to close friends (so that you can understand if someone's list is pretty fast).
It's also worth noting: Photos that are shared in the "Close Friends" attachments can not be shared elsewhere, so you do not have to worry about how your cover is fueled by a close friend who shares your photo on their course .